Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 6320 - Theoretical Foundations: Ontology/Epistemology

GVRL and Humanities Full Text

To find an overview, definition, or summary of ontology and epistemology, it is likely that you will need to look outside of the standard healthcare databases. Instead, try using Reference or Humanities resources like these:

LOOK HERE FOR ONTOLOGY AND EPISTEMOLOGY

Gale Virtual Reference

Use Advanced Search to look for "ontology" and then limit to the "Medicine" collection.

An image showing a search for "ontology" limited to the Medicine collection in the "GALE eBooks" database.

Repeat this process using the term "epistemology."

An image showing a search in the "GALE eBooks" database for "epistemology," limited to the Medicine collection.

Humanities Full Text

Look for "ontology" in the title, abstract, or assigned subject heading fields. Repeat this process with the term "epistemology."

An image showing how to search for the term "ontology" in the title, abstract, and subject fields of the Humanities Full Text database.

Use Boolean Operators to combine your keyword terms.

An image showing the search history of combined terms "ontology" and "health care" in the Humanities Full Text database.

Ontology and Epistemology

Ontology

Ontology, as a branch of philosophy, is the science of what is, of the kinds and structures of objects. In simple terms, ontology seeks the classification and explanation of entities. Ontology is about the object of inquiry, what you set to examine... the nature of being and existence.

From the University of Warwick


Epistemology

Epistemology is the theory of knowledge. It is concerned with the mind’s relation to reality. What is it for this relation to be one of knowledge? Do we know things? And if we do, how and when do we know things? Answering these questions requires considering the relationship between knowledge, truth, belief, reason, evidence and reliability. It requires considering the different psychological routes to knowledge, including different processes of reasoning – logical and scientific – introspection, perception, memory, testimony and intuition. And it requires considering the nature of the known reality.

From the University of Sheffield