Skip to main content

Physician Assistant Studies: Evidence-Based Practice: Key Resources

Key Databases

PubMed

Contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this search system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  Full-text linking is available for free for PubMed Central, books, and subscribed content. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the Briscoe Library website for access to UT Health San Antonio holdings.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

ClinicalKey

A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.

UpToDate

An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: To link to UTHSC journals, log in and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

ClinicalTrials.gov

A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Micromedex

A database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and identification.

Bates Physical Exams

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition is based on the Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking. It is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific modules which show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions.

Affiliations

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) - Provides practice exams for the PANCE and PANRE and information about maintaining certification through continuing medical education (CME).

American Academy of PAs (AAPA) - the national professional society for PAs. Provides information regarding certification and licensure, CME opportunities, jobs (PA JobSource), and events. 

Texas Academy of Physician Assistants (TAPA) - Offers opportunities for professional development and networking as well as a career center.

Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) scholarships and fellowships

PA Organizations - by state and specialty

Websites

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)

National Guideline Clearinghouse - summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) - high-quality, peer-reviewed research education materials

Librarian - Liaison to the School of Health Professions