Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy: Evidence-Based Practice: Resources

Key Databases

PubMed

A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free for PubMed Central, books, and subscribed content. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the Briscoe Library website for access to UT Health San Antonio holdings.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

OTSearch

A bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology and health care delivery or administration. Full text is not available in this database, yet bibliographic information to identify the material and the author’s abstract is available when it exists.

OTSeeker

Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for validity.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: To link to UTHSC journals, log in and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Affiliations

American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) - the national professional association established to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students and to improve the quality of occupational therapy services.

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) - not-for-profit credentialing agency that provides certification, including exam prep tools, for the occupational therapy profession.

Texas Occupational Therapy Association (TOTA) - An AOTA affiliate established for the benefit of professionals and students of occupational therapy. Membership services include public relations materials, legislative information, practice forum, educational meetings, and student services.

Librarian - Liaison to the School of Health Professions