Skip to main content

School of Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice: Resources

An overview of evidence-based practice resources for Nursing students.

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

 

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

 

PsycINFO

Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.

 

PubMed

A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid.

 

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: To link to UTHSC journals, log in and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Affiliations

Texas Board of Nursing (BON) - Protects and promotes the welfare of the people of Texas by ensuring that each person holding a licensure as a nurse in the state of Texas is competent to practice safely. It is the licensing agent for the state of Texas.

American Nurses' Association (ANA) - Represents the interests of American Registered Nurses and advances the nursing profession with a focus on improving the quality of health care for all.

Texas Nurses' Association (TNA) - A professional association of licensed nurses committed to advancing excellence in nursing.

Students cannot join ANA or TNA, but can subscribe for $10/year to access many of their benefits.

National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA) - Mentors the professional development of future registered nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.

Texas Nursing Students' Association (TNSA) - Dedicated to promoting professionalism and leadership for today's students.

Liaison to the School of Nursing